Meet The Beatles! (United States, 1964)

Home » A SPLENDID TIME IS GUARANTEED: Beatles Albums Discography » Meet The Beatles! (United States, 1964)

Meet The Beatles! (United States, 1964)

Meet The Beatles! (United States, 1964)

Buy Meet The Beatles! on CD

Marked as “The first album by England’s phenomenal pop combo”, Meet The Beatles was the first Beatles album released in America by Capitol, even though the band had already released two albums in their native Britain. Combining songs from those two albums, including a slightly different track list of their second UK album With The Beatles, Meet The Beatles was released just barely two weeks before their historic first performance on the Ed Sullivan Show. Two songs are presented in “rechanneled” stereo, as Capitol had only mono mixes from EMI. The cover photo is the same as the UK With The Beatles, but has a blue tint to it. The album was rereleased on CD in 2004 as part of the four disc set The Capitol Albums, Vol. 1 in both stereo and mono on one disc using the original Capitol masters, and again in 2014 in The U.S. Albums box set but featuring reworked EMI masters.

Track list

Side A

  1. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  2. I Saw Her Standing There
  3. This Boy
  4. It Won’t Be Long
  5. All I’ve Got To Do
  6. All My Loving

Side B

  1. Don’t Bother Me
  2. Little Child
  3. Till There Was You
  4. Hold Me Tight
  5. I Wanna Be Your Man
  6. Not A Second Time

Release history

  • Capitol T 2047 (mono), released January 20, 1964
  • Capitol ST 2047 (stereo), released January 20, 1964
  • Odeon T 100341 (mono), released 1964 (Columbia)
  • Capitol C1-90441, released July 28, 1988
  • Apple/Capitol CDP 7243 8 66875 2 4 (mono & stereo CD), released November 15, 2004 in The Capitol Albums Vol. 1
  • Apple B0019696-02 (remastered mono & stereo CD), released January 21, 2014

Meet The Beatles! Columbia mono cover

Meet The Beatles! (Colombia, 1964)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *