A Hard Day's Night Original Motion Picture Sound Track (United States, 1964)

A Hard Days Night Original Soundtrack

Buy A Hard Day's Night Original Soundtrack on CD or on iTunes

The United Artist's version of the soundtrack to A Hard Day's Night, released only in America. United Artists, the company which released the film, had exclusive rights to the soundtrack to the film, and Capitol was forced to recreate the album for the American release and title it Something New. However, the advantage was Capitol's, as they had the only stereo mixes of the songs. All of the instrumental tracks are performed by George Martin's Orchestra. In 1980 EMI acquired United Artists and reissued the album on Capitol. The album was rereleased on CD in 2014 in mono and stereo on a single disc in The U.S. Albums box set but featuring reworked EMI masters.

Track list

Side A

  1. A Hard Day's Night
  2. Tell Me Why
  3. I'll Cry Instead
  4. I Should Have Known Better (Instrumental)
  5. I'm Happy Just To Dance With You
  6. And I Love Her (Instrumental)

Side B

  1. I Should Have Known Better
  2. If I Fell
  3. And I Love Her
  4. Ringo's Theme (This Boy) (Instrumental)
  5. Can't Buy Me Love
  6. A Hard Day's Night (Instrumental)

Release history

  • United Artists UAL 3366 (mono), released June 26, 1964
  • United Artists UAS 6366 (stereo), released June 26, 1964
  • Capitol SW-11921, released August 17, 1980
  • Apple B0019700-02 (remastered mono & stereo CD), released January 21, 2014

Search About The Beatles

Buy The Beatles American Albums

The original unique mono and stereo Capitol masters -- MEET THE BEATLES, THE BEATLES' SECOND ALBUM, SOMETHING NEW, and BEATLES '65.

The original unique mono and stereo Capitol masters -- THE EARLY BEATLES, BEATLES VI, HELP! ORIGINAL MOTION PICTUER SOUNDTRACK, and RUBBER SOUL.

2014 13-disc box set includes the Beatles' complete US album releases including the mono and stereo mixes.