The Beatles Story (1993)

The Beatles Story (1993)

The Beatles Story (1993)

The Beatles Story was a 3-disc CD set published in Japan by CTA Records. At the time of release, Japanese copyright law stated that any non-Japanese recording made before January 1, 1968 was public domain, meaning that although unauthorized the set was completely legal. Anyone could re-release non-Japanese recordings as long as royalties were paid to JASRAC, the collective management organization administering music copyrights. The set was imported into the US and even sold at large retailers such as Best Buy, but being that the CDs were completely illegal in the US they were soon pulled. The discs are believed to be sourced from consumer reel to reel releases and underwent some filtering on the high end to reduce noise. Being that the original CD releases of the Beatles’ first four albums were in mono, this set was the only CD source for songs from those albums in stereo.

A second 3-disc CD set titled Another Beatles Story was also issued.

The Beatles Story (1993), Disc 1: Super Hits front cover

Disc 1: Super Hits

  1. Please Please Me
  2. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  3. She Loves You
  4. From Me To You
  5. Love Me Do
  6. Can’t Buy Me Love
  7. A Hard Day’s Night
  8. I Feel Fine
  9. Eight Days A Week
  10. Ticket To Ride
  11. Help!
  12. Yesterday
  13. We Can Work It Out
  14. Paperback Writer
  15. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  16. Magical Mystery Tour
  17. Penny Lane
  18. Strawberry Fields Forever
  19. All You Need Is Love
  20. Hello Goodbye

The Beatles Story (1993), Disc 2: Rock`N Roll front cover

Disc 2: Rock ‘N Roll

  1. Rock And Roll Music
  2. She’s A Woman
  3. I Saw Her Standing There
  4. Boys
  5. Twist And Shout
  6. Little Child
  7. Roll Over Beethoven
  8. Hold Me Tight
  9. I Wanna Be Your Man
  10. Money
  11. Long Tall Sally
  12. You Can’t Do That
  13. Slow Down
  14. Matchbox
  15. Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey Hey
  16. Honey Don’t
  17. Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby
  18. Bad Boy
  19. Dizzy Miss Lizzy
  20. I’m Down

The Beatles Story (1993), Disc 3: Love Ballades front cover

Disc 3: Love Ballades (sic) front cover

  1. Yesterday
  2. P.S. I Love You
  3. Ask Me Why
  4. Baby It’s You
  5. A Taste Of Honey
  6. All My Loving
  7. All I’ve Got To Do
  8. Till There Was You
  9. You Really Got A Hold On Me
  10. If I Fell (listed as “If I Feel”)
  11. And I Love Her
  12. I’ll Follow The Sun
  13. Yes It Is
  14. It’s Only Love
  15. Michelle
  16. In My Life
  17. Girl
  18. Here, There, And Everywhere
  19. For No One
  20. She’s Leaving Home

Release history

  • CTA Records – released 1993

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *