Revolution 1 (Lennon/McCartney)

Home » Revolution 1 (Lennon/McCartney)

Revolution 1 (Lennon/McCartney)

The unreleased take 20

In 2009, take 20 of Revolution 1, recorded on June 4, was uncovered on the bootleg Revolution: Take…Your Knickers Off! as well as on Youtube. Clocking in at nearly eleven minutes, the track is a stylistic cross between Revolution 1 and Revolution 9, containing avant garde elements as well as lyrical and musical elements from I Am The Walrus and Hey Jude.


  • John Lennon – lead vocals, acoustic guitar, lead guitar
  • Paul McCartney – bass guitar, piano, Hammond organ, backing vocals
  • George Harrison – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Ringo Starr – drums
  • Derek Watkins, Freddy Clayton – trumpets
  • Don Lang, Rex Morris, J. Power, Bill Povey – trombones

Release history