Rarities (United States, 1980)


Buy Rarities on vinyl

The UK compilation album "Rarities", which featured recordings not available on regularly issued LPs, was scheduled for release in the US, but a Capitol executive canceled it in the middle of the first pressing - noting that none of the songs were rarities in the US and most were available on regularly issued Capitol LPs - pulled the release and all copies were ordered to be destroyed (all though a few made their way in to the collector's market and are very valuable). Instead, an album of true US rarities was compiled.

Track list

Side A

  1. Love Me Do (mono single version)
  2. Misery
  3. There's A Place
  4. Sie Liebt Dich
  5. And I Love Her (6-bar ending from the German release)
  6. Help! (mono version with alternate vocals)
  7. I'm Only Sleeping (UK album mix)
  8. I Am The Walrus (compilation remix)

Side B

  1. Penny Lane (compilation remix)
  2. Helter Skelter (mono mix)
  3. Don't Pass Me By (mono mix)
  4. The Inner Light (mono mix)
  5. Across The Universe (No One's Gonna Change Our World version)
  6. You Know My Name (Look Up The Number)
  7. Sgt. Pepper Inner Groove

Release history

  • Capitol Records SHAL 12060, released March 24, 1980

Search About The Beatles

Buy The Beatles American Albums

The original unique mono and stereo Capitol masters -- MEET THE BEATLES, THE BEATLES' SECOND ALBUM, SOMETHING NEW, and BEATLES '65.

The original unique mono and stereo Capitol masters -- THE EARLY BEATLES, BEATLES VI, HELP! ORIGINAL MOTION PICTUER SOUNDTRACK, and RUBBER SOUL.

2014 13-disc box set includes the Beatles' complete US album releases including the mono and stereo mixes.