Greatest Hits Volume 1 (Australia, 1966)

Greatest Hits Volume 1

A collection of previously-released hits. The cover is derived from the US album Beatles VI. Contains the 1965 stereo remix of I Want To Hold Your Hand despite that not being issued in stereo in the UK until November, 1966 for A Collection Of Beatles Oldies.

The mono masters of both Greatest Hits Volume 1 and Greatest Hits Volume 2 were folddowns of the stereo mixes; only She Loves You and I'll Get You appear in true mono as the stereo mixes were unavailable. The stereo version of Volume 1 features a fake stereo mix of She Loves You created by EMI in November, 1966. The stereo version of Volume 1 would not be released until twenty months after the mono release, and twelve months after the release of Volume 2; hence the reason the sleeve of Volume 2 sleeve makes reference only to the mono release of Volume 1.

Track list

Side A

  1. Please Please Me
  2. From Me To You
  3. She Loves You
  4. I'll Get You
  5. I Want To Hold Your Hand
  6. Love Me Do
  7. I Saw Her Standing There

Side B

  1. Twist And Shout
  2. Roll Over Beethoven
  3. All My Loving
  4. Hold Me Tight
  5. Can't Buy Me Love
  6. You Can't Do That
  7. Long Tall Sally

Release history

  • Parlophone PMCO 7533 (mono), released August, 1966
  • Parlophone PCSO 7533 (stereo), released February, 1968

Back cover

Greatest Hits Volume 1, back cover

Search About The Beatles