Get Back (Lennon/McCartney)

Home » SECOND TO NONE: The Beatles Song Index » Get Back (Lennon/McCartney)

Get Back (Lennon/McCartney)

Get Back was the original title to the film and album which became Let It Be. The whole idea of the album was for the band to “get back” to their recording roots by playing live and without studio trickery, hence the title. Journalists repeatedly asked Paul if the song had racist meanings, but demo tapes show that the song was originally a satire of people who wanted to keep illegal immigrants out of Britain. Soon Paul had added a few characters and the satire was lost, but the single was enormously successful, selling 2 million copies.

Get Back was recorded with guest keyboardist Billy Preston. The single version features a longer running time than the album version. The album version is cut short, ending with applause and John saying, “Thank you. On behalf of the group and ourselves. I hope we passed the audition” which was taken from the end of the rooftop concert. It was the first stereo single the Beatles released in America and was the last UK single to be mixed in mono.


  • Paul McCartney – lead vocal, bass guitar
  • John Lennon – lead guitar, harmony vocal
  • George Harrison – rhythm guitar
  • Ringo Starr – drums
  • Billy Preston – electric piano

Release history

Chart performance

  • #1, April 23 – June 9, 1969 (6 weeks), Record Retailer (UK)
  • #1, May 24 – June 27, 1969 (5 weeks), Billboard (US)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *