Because (Lennon/McCartney)

The chord pattern to "Because" is derived from Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 14 in C Sharp Minor. Yoko was playing the piece when John asked her to play it backward.

George Martin plays a Baldwin spinet harpsichord. George Harrison plays a Moog synthesiser. Ringo provided a guide for the vocalists on the high-hat, but it was not recorded and only appeared in the headsets. The equivalent of 9 vocalists appear, as there are 3 sets of 3-part vocals.


"I was lying on the sofa in our house, listening to Yoko play Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata" on the piano. Suddenly, I said, "Can you play those chords backward?" She did, and I wrote "Because" around them. The song sounds like "Moonlight Sonata," too. The lyrics are clear, no bullshit, no imagery, no obscure references." - John Lennon, Playboy, 1980

Recording dates

  • August 1, 1969 (rhythm track, first set of vocals)
  • August 4, 1969 (second and third sets of vocals)
  • August 5, 1969 (Moog synthesiser overdubs)
  • August 12, 1969 (mixing)

Release history

Notable covers

  • Elliot Smith (from the American Beauty soundtrack)

Search About The Beatles