Beatles For Sale (1964)

Beatles For Sale

Buy Beatles For Sale on CD, on stereo vinyl, on mono vinyl, or on iTunes

Exhausted from non-stop touring and making a movie, the Beatles were able to provide 8 original Lennon/McCartney songs for Beatles For Sale rush released for the 1964 Christmas season. And the songs showed their exhaustion, with titles like "I'm A Loser" and "Eight Days A Week" which, although a love song, is titled after a "Ringoism." New horizons were reached in the songwriting, especially by John, who was beginning to be influenced by Bob Dylan and by journalist Kenneth Allsop, who told John that he "wasn't terrible enamored with Beatles' songs because they all tended to be 'she loves him', 'he loves her', 'they love her', and 'I love her'." Allsop encouraged John to not mask his feelings, but to just speak out on what he really felt. It was the earliest sign of the heights the band would take their music. The initial 1987 CD release was mono only, and the 2009 remastered edition was issued in stereo while the mono mix was included in the Beatles In Mono box set.

Track list

Side A

  1. No Reply
  2. I'm A Loser
  3. Baby's In Black
  4. Rock And Roll Music
  5. I'll Follow The Sun
  6. Mr. Moonlight
  7. Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey Hey

Side B

  1. Eight Days A Week
  2. Words Of Love
  3. Honey Don't
  4. Every Little Thing
  5. I Don't Want To Spoil The Party
  6. What You're Doing
  7. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby

Release history

  • Parlophone PMC 1240 (mono), released December 4, 1964
  • Parlophone PCS 3062 (stereo), released December 4, 1964
  • Mobile Fidelity MFSL 1-104 (vinyl), released February 1987
  • Parlophone CDP 7 46438 2 (mono CD), released February 26, 1987
  • Apple 0946 3 82414 2 3 (remastered stereo CD), released September 9, 2009
  • Parlophone PMC 1240 (remastered mono CD), released September 9, 2009 in The Beatles In Mono box set

Other versions

Mono cover

Beatles For Sale, mono cover

Search About The Beatles