1967-1970 (1973)

1967-1970 (1973)

1967-1970 (1973)

Buy 1967-1970 on CD, or on Vinyl

Listen to 1967-1970 on Apple Music or on Spotify

A showcase of the better known songs from the band’s incredibly innovative ‘studio years’ – beginning with 1967’s Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and running through Let It Be. Also known as the ‘blue album’, 1967-1970 is a double disc set having identical tracks lists in the UK and US versions. The original LP releases included lyrics printed on the album sleeves.

Differences in the US edition

In the original US vinyl edition, Penny Lane and Hello Goodbye were presented in fake stereo as they were on Magical Mystery Tour and I Am The Walrus featured a 4-bar intro instead of the more common 6-bar intro.

Different track list for Spain

In Spain, One After 909 replaced The Ballad Of John And Yoko which had been banned for the line “Gibraltar near Spain.”

1993 and 2010 remasters

The first CD edition of 1967-1970 released in 1993 utilized brand new remasters of all songs on the album – the first remastering of the Beatles catalog since the initial 1987/1988 first edition CDs. The 2010 edition utilized the now-standard 2009 remasters.

An iconic cover photo

The cover photo was taken by photographer Angus McBean and  a recreation of his photo that was used on the Please Please Me cover (the session for which also produced the photo for The Beatles No. 1 and, later, 1962-1966 and the back cover of 1967-1970). The photo was originally taken in 1969 for the aborted Get Back album and was also used as the back photo for 1962-1966.

Track list

Disc 1, Side A

  1. Strawberry Fields Forever
  2. Penny Lane
  3. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
  4. With A Little Help From My Friends
  5. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
  6. A Day In The Life
  7. All You Need Is Love

Disc 1, Side B

  1. I Am The Walrus
  2. Hello Goodbye
  3. The Fool On The Hill
  4. Magical Mystery Tour
  5. Lady Madonna
  6. Hey Jude
  7. Revolution

Disc 2, Side A

  1. Back In The U.S.S.R.
  2. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  3. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  4. Get Back
  5. Don’t Let Me Down
  6. The Ballad Of John & Yoko
  7. Old Brown Shoe

Disc 2, Side B

  1. Here Comes The Sun
  2. Come Together
  3. Something
  4. Octopus’s Garden
  5. Let It Be
  6. Across The Universe
  7. The Long And Winding Road

Release history

  • Apple SKBO 3404, released April 2, 1973
  • Apple PCSP 718, released April 19, 1973
  • Capitol SEBX 11843 (Blue Vinyl), released August 1978
  • Parlophone PCSPB 718 (Blue Vinyl), released September 30, 1979
  • Capitol C1-90438, released July 28, 1988
  • Apple CDP 7 97039 2 (CD), released September 20, 1993 (UK), October 5, 1993 (US)
  • Capitol C1-97039 (Blue Vinyl), released January 22, 1994
  • Apple BLUE6770, released October 18, 2010

Back cover

1967-1970, Back cover

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *