12-Bar Original (Lennon/McCartney/Harrison/Starkey)

Home » SECOND TO NONE: The Beatles Song Index » 12-Bar Original (Lennon/McCartney/Harrison/Starkey)

12-Bar Original (Lennon/McCartney/Harrison/Starkey)

12-Bar Original was the first instrumental recorded by the Beatles since signing with EMI, recorded during sessions for Rubber Soul but left unissued until Anthology 2 in 1996. The song is credited to Lennon/McCartney/Harrison/Starkey. Only John and Ringo have ever commented on the song, with John recalling it as “some lousy 12 bar” and Ringo saying “we all wrote the track and I have an acetate of one of the versions”.


  • George Harrison – lead guitar
  • John Lennon – lead guitar
  • Paul McCartney – bass
  • Ringo Starr – drums
  • George Martin – harmonium

Release history

1 Response

  1. EAM says:

    Can anyone recommend a good sourced boot of the full version of this?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *